240Hz monitor vs 80-150fps = Screen Tearing?

Go to solution Solved by Glenwing,
1 hour ago, Casual Cube said:

Hey guys, I cant seem to get a solid answer on this.

I know that when the fps is too high and the refresh rate can't keep up with it, images are half shown for a split second therefore causing screen tearing.

Would you experience screen tearing if your fps is much lower than your refresh rate?

I'm thinking of pairing a 1070 with a 144Hz or even 240Hz monitor and expect to play all kinds of games on close to max settings at average 100fps.

Also smaller games including CS:GO at the expected 400fps. 

I've heard both yes and no to the question. 

Can someone settle this for me? I'm no expert with displays.

Thank you!

1 hour ago, Jurrunio said:

From what I know, when a screen doesn't get a new frame from the graphics card, it will display the previous frame. Therefore, if your FPS is between 72 and 144, the screen will sometimes show 1 frame per 2 refresh, sometimes 1 frame per refresh. If it's between 48 and 72, it will show 1 frame per 2~3 refreshes. From this, I can say that FPS below refresh rate won't cause tear.  Actually, thinking about it now, when we've all got bad PCs and still try to run games, it's usually just around 30-50FPS on a 60Hz screen. At these low refresh rates, any kind of tear should be obvious, but the truth is we never notice this.