Desktop or laptop?

So I'm currently a student in 7th grade and I am considering buying a new PC soon which will hopefully be my first "gaming" pc which will actually have non-integrated graphics and be able to run Minecraft over 30 fps. 

But I face a problem. Desktop or laptop? Now I know all of you will probably say get a desktop you get the best "bang for your buck", you can upgrade, you can customize your peripherals and it's just better in general. And as much as I really want to get a desktop I face a problem. Portability.

I usually travel by plane to other places and stay there for a pretty long time. It's not a "vacation" since it's not like 1-2 weeks long but  I stay a few months there and if I get a desktop I'll probably not be able to take it there making it unusable for the few months of vacation which I am there and the only thing I'll be able to use is an old laptop which really can't run much.

I know laptops really are shining these days with their pascal "full desktop grade" graphics cards. But first, they are 10% slower than their desktop counterparts which makes a big difference. Second, peripherals. I'd like to be able to customize peripherals for example if the laptop comes with a 1080p60hz monitor I'd like to change it to like 1080p120hz monitor in the future but with a laptop that's hard without sacrificing the portability of the laptop.

Keep in mind this will be for the next 3 years which is why this is a really stressful choice to make and that's why I'm here to see people's opinions to get to a final answer.

Also, laptops with the desired graphics card (GTX 1060) will cost around 1300$ but if I would get  a desktop it'd cost around 800$-1100$ including peripherals and I'd get a better performing, cpu, ram, graphics card by 10% and just overall experience.

So yeah, any opinions on what I should get?

Laptop bro, if you travel that much for that long.