Audio volume

Go to solution Solved by AkiraDaarkst,
13 minutes ago, Quentinstjames said:

I have a problem and I am new to using Premiere Pro.  I recorded some video messages for my grandmothers birthday and using Premiere to edit them.  I added some music tracks she likes as background music but they are too loud and its hard to hear anything being said.  And how can I adjust the audio of different video so that some are not too loud while others are not too quiet?

Thanks,

Quentin St-James

For the music tracks, what you can do:

• Select the music tracks in the Sequence's timeline
  • Right click on it, select Audio Gain
  • Select "Adjust Gain by" and set a negative value.  Don't go for a large decrease, usually something like -10dB should be more than enough.
  • Look at the audio levels in the Premiere panel
  • You can also preview the audio tracks one track at a time by muting other tracks or soloing only one track to be heard.
  • If your dialog tracks' audio peaks at around -10dB it will be fine and if your music tracks peak at around -15dB or -20dB, give or take a few decibels, it should be OK.  Play around with the Audio Gain settings until you think it sounds right.  The music tracks' audio should be sufficiently lower than the dialog tracks for the dialog to be audible.

For equalizing the audio levels of the various audio tracks from different video clips, similarly just play around with the Audio Gain settings until they sound right to you.  Also, when I say "sound right" I mean they sound loud enough without having to crank up the volume control on your computer or speakers to the maximum.

By the way, if you used the same audio settings when filming you shouldn't really have video clips with too big a difference in loudness levels.