Getting into AI programming

Claryn

Hi. 

I am an Msci Computer Science student, currently in my second year. I am planning to go for a specialization on AI in year 4 when I have to chose what my Masters will be on.

However, I want to start looking at AI programming straight away, and try and get a good understanding of how it all works. 

I have looked at the ANKI Cozmo that Luke covered in a video some weeks back, as he mentioned that it can be used as a toy for learning AI programming. Thought I'm a bit uncertain if it will be sufficient to get a good understanding of AI programming, since it seems more aimed at kids with little prior programming experience. 

So my question to you all is whether there is a very good resource for getting into AI programming that is aimed at undergraduate students or someone with the same experience?

Running Arch with i3-gaps on a Thinkpad X1 Extreme
Data Science Postgrad

AI is a pretty wide field, but mostly when people refer to it they mean machine learning. Deep learning is today's craze, and at th basis of that there are neural networks, a mathematical model inspired by our biological neural networks. But of course, there's more things to understand before you reach those.

I've gone through a course on coursera.org from Stanford on Machine Learning (by Andrew Ng) and it was a great way to understand those things. I wouldn't say it was ideal, but I learned what I wanted to learn nevertheless.

i5 4670k @ 4.2GHz (Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo); ASrock Z87 EXTREME4; 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 RAM @ 2133MHz; Asus DirectCU GTX 560; Super Flower Golden King 550 Platinum PSU;1TB Seagate Barracuda;Corsair 200r case. 

1 hour ago, Claryn said:

Hi. 

I am an Msci Computer Science student, currently in my second year. I am planning to go for a specialization on AI in year 4 when I have to chose what my Masters will be on.