Noob question: what does the motherboard exactly do?

I'm still somewhat new to the 'in depth computer world' or the 'behind the scenes of computers' and there's still a lot I should learn. I already know what graphics cards and ram do. So my next step is learning about motherboards. As I want to upgrade my computer, I need to know what motherboard would be the most suitable for me.

Now here's the thing. I know that a motherboard connects all the componends of the computer, but that's about all I know. Does a motherboard have more 'tasks'? And what makes one better than another? How do I decide which motherboard I should go for?

Don't be shy. Give me as much information as you know. :)

A Motherboard is the spine of your PC, it is the link between all the different components inside your computer. One of the major functions of a motherboard is to act as the “hub” to which other computer devices connect. A board can come in many formations to fit different needs and budgets.  

Intel Core I5-6500, Gigabyte GTx 750 Ti 4Gb

The as fast as possible series is great, quickly gives all the information and you can google what you don't completely understand

Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHz | NZXT Kraken X52 | Asus Maximus VIII Hero | Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 | 16GB DDR4 Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3200MHz | CoolerMaster MasterCase 5