Should I Get Windows 8.1

Hey guys,

I recently started playing the Battlefield 4 Beta. I have a pretty beastly system and it doesn't run very well. I am looking into Windows 8.1 for a performance increase. I am used to Windows 7. I am wondering what version of 8.1 I should get. I also have a 1T HDD I have been using as my OS drive. I have a 15K RPM SAS Drive I use for recording high FPS videos to. Should I use that drive for my OS drive? Would I see that much of an increase in speed? Is installing games on a faster HDD make the game run any faster? Thanks for taking the time to read this.

-Alec

You'll probably only see an increase in boot time on the 1TB. I dunno if you can install onto the SAS drive or not?

Performance in games and HDD speeds are negligible in changing OS except for booting up.

Desktop: Intel i5-3570K (stock) | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill RipJaw 16GB 1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB | EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB | Fractal Design R4 | Windows 8 Pro (soon to have dual boot Mac OS X)

Retina Macbook Pro : Intel i7-3840QM | 16GB 1600 MHz | 256GB SSD | Nvidia GT 650M 1GB | Mac OS X 10.8.5

I have heard that BF4 does run much better on W8.. And get an SSD.

I don't always have time to study, but when I do, I don't.

I have heard that BF4 does run much better on W8.. And get an SSD.

Why would you recommend getting an SSD?

Are you using Nvida cards? Because AMD payed 8.4 Million $ so that they make bad patches for Nvida.

My Pc: Cpu: I7 4790k @ 4,8 Ghz @1,25 volts, Motherboard: Maximus VII Formula, Graphicscard: 2x Titan X @1,4 at stock voltage (soon to be replaced), Ram: 32 gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 Cl 9, SSD: 2x 850 Pro 1 Tb in Raid 0, 2x Samsung 840 Evo 1 tb raid 1,, PSU: Corsair HXi Series 1000W 80+ Platinum, Case: H440. Soon to be watercooled again, maybe, probably, the Titans are too loud. 

Why would you recommend getting an SSD?

speed is greatly increased

speed is greatly increased

Thats true but he is talking fps and not loading times.