Home WiFi Improvement

Hello, I am a online student and throughout the last 4 years I noticed that the wifi signal has been lacking in my workspace. I am on the main floor of my house while the router is upstairs in my parents office opposite the corner of the house that I am working from. The signal has to go through a interior  wall and a floor to reach my computer. There is about 30 ft in a straight line from it to my computer. Attached are photos of both the upstairs setup (004 - 006) and my computer (007 - 010). Our upstairs computer in a Dell Inspirion 530 from 2006 with the cheapest Netgear Wall-mart router to be found. My setup is a Acer Aspire XC-603 with a ASUS USB N13 wifi dongle. I need budget minded suggestions for getting close to our internet service of 3mbs. I begin school in August and would like to have serviceable wifi before the start of the semester. This is a problem accentuated by the fact that we have during the day (in summer) at least 2 other devices online at once. Any help on the matter would be appreciated as I do not know enough to make judgments on the problem.

004.JPG

005.JPG

006.JPG

007.JPG

009.JPG

010.JPG

Just to clarify, pictures 1-3 are of the upstairs setup and the rest are from the downstairs setup.

One improvement you could make for ~20US is to upgrade from a wireless USB dongle to a PCIe wireless card. Those have external antennas, which should give you better signal quality. A free way to get better strength would be to put the dongle on top of a desk, away from the case and any other type of interference.