i3 vs FX for gaming?

No

I see a lot of people saying the i3 6100 is bad for gaming because it is a dual core and stutters etc

while i see people praising the fx 6300/8320 because it has more cores

I also see people saying the i3 is fast and the fx is old and outdated.

Can anyone clear this up for me? What is better in a gaming scenario.

i would say fx, but i have no experience with either cpu, sry

The i3-6100 is better than the FX-6350/6300 in almost every scenario except heavily multithreaded tasks. You have to bear in mind that the i3 has hyperthreading.

USEFUL LINKS:

PSU Tier List F@H stats

3 minutes ago, No said:

I see a lot of people saying the i3 6100 is bad for gaming because it is a dual core and stutters etc

while i see people praising the fx 6300/8320 because it has more cores

I also see people saying the i3 is fast and the fx is old and outdated.

Can anyone clear this up for me? What is better in a gaming scenario.

Maybe this helps

I wouldn't really consider the i3-6100 a dual core due to the hyperthreading. 

It will play more like a quad core and the high clock speed with the high IPC can excel in CPU heavy MMO's, etc. 

The intel product is a better investment because you're buying DDR4 ram and can upgrade to a more powerful CPU. 

For gaming intel Core i3-6100 is way better choice! AMD FX 6300 is too old and single core performance is very poor.

the i3-6100 will let you upgrade to an i5 or an i7 later without purchasing a new motherboard and RAM where as the AMD FX will not. end of the story.

Don't lock yourself on such old outdated hardware with abysmal single-threaded performance.

| CPU: Core i7-8700K @ 4.89ghz - 1.21v  Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING  CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i V2 |
| GPU: MSI RTX 3080Ti Ventus 3X OC  RAM: 32GB T-Force Delta RGB 3066mhz |
| Displays: Acer Predator XB270HU 1440p Gsync 144hz IPS Gaming monitor | Oculus Quest 2 VR

5 minutes ago, i_build_nanosuits said: