Does fans even make a difference?

Hey guys novice here, i was wondering, if my cpu and gpu are water cooled do fans even matter except maybe for the motherboard temps? Will it lower temps to have fans or could i might as well take them off? Btw this is if im using a very large case.

if you are water cooling then youd still need a fan for case airflow and also your radiators. radiators work by airflow 

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning." -Albert Einstein

Just now, cummerou1 said:

Hey guys novice here, i was wondering, if my cpu and gpu are water cooled do fans even matter except maybe for the motherboard temps? Will it lower temps to have fans or could i might as well take them off? Btw this is if im using a very large case.

To a degree if you have decent quality pressure optimized fans they will work fairly well but may be be as quiet or perform slightly less than the top end stuff. The main thing for rad and heatsink fans is they are pressure optimized made for pushing and forcing air through the fins where airflow fans are more about cfm or volume.

You would need fans for the radiators for sure. As for case fans, it wouldn't hurt to still keep some in so that the heat created by the chipset can be dispersed

Of course im talking about case fans :)

Also im planning to make my components be in my desk ( like this except much more simple and no glass panels, flashy led's or 4 k). I have calculated my desk to contain 2 m3 of air and one fan of those im looking at will move 124 m3 per hour (i will cut that down to 40% due to noise). How many fans do you guys think i would need?

17 minutes ago, cummerou1 said:

Of course im talking about case fans :)