Useless game dev discussion

This thread is no longer necessary. Don't bother reading it.

Spoiler

I would appreciate it if you read through this whole post and helped me with what I am asking below. I have highly ambitious and very long term goals of developing my own video game, a game people would buy, play and actually like. I've got no experience right now (that will change with college) but I plan on this being something I will definitely do, even if I have to go to hell and back. Game development is a long and hard (9_9) process, I already know that and I haven't even tried making the game in mind aside from taking notes (I've got a word document with 16 pages so far full of size 8 text, all ideas for the game).

The project I have in mind is very ambitious, and bringing it to life on a PC will be a long and painful process, especially if I were to do it all on my own, as unlikely as that is. I'm not setting myself any time constraints, and I will do what I must to actually make this game, but I'm a long ways off from actually starting the project. I first must learn to code, then I need to gain experience in actually developing programs, all before I can actually begin on my ultimate project. According to the college program I will be taking, it'll dabble in game development, but it won't be enough for, say, a job application at most game studios, but getting a job at a game studio isn't my goal anyways. 

Although I'm a long ways off from actually beginning the project, I was thinking about how I would set up the framework for the game. Ideally, I would like to make something that is modular and easily modifiable, like Skyrim is. Here are some basic ideas for my game. You could say my game is sort of a cross between Mass Effect and Skyrim. These are important in consideration of the whole point of this thread: