microsoft 365 vs google for work

bitdota

Hey,

I am a manager of a small business (approximately 4 employees) and we are looking to improve the communication and workflow.

We are currently using email addresses hosted by our domain host. We are currently using OpenOffice and thunderbird for our daily work. Lot of compatibility issues and communication problems with these software .

Which one would suit us better? Can google docs export the same formats as microsoft does ? 

Can you assign tasks that you create to other members within google or 365 ?

Which one would you recommend ?

Thanks

Google docs is ok for working within the office, but not 100% compatible like Microsoft office is

I say just get 365 for all

Desktop - Corsair 300r i7 4770k H100i MSI 780ti 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400mhz Crucial MX100 512gb Samsung Evo 250gb 2 TB WD Green, AOC Q2770PQU 1440p 27" monitor Laptop Clevo W110er - 11.6" 768p, i5 3230m, 650m GT 2gb, OCZ vertex 4 256gb,  4gb ram, Server: Fractal Define Mini, MSI Z78-G43, Intel G3220, 8GB Corsair Vengeance, 4x 3tb WD Reds in Raid 10, Phone Oppo Reno 10x 256gb , Camera Sony A7iii

I always tell small employers with less than 10 people to go for the free alternative.

Google Docs has pretty much the same features you'll be using in MS Office, it's free, it's highly collaborative and everything can be easily shared from one employee to another.

As far as I know you can export to any MSO-compatible format (.xlsx, .docx), PFD and Open Office formats.

I'm unsure about the task assignment, but you can just create a spreadsheet to track and assign the tasks to each employee and tell your people to check it periodically for updates.