i3-4150 w/ GTX 970 - Is this a bottleneck or card issue?

To bottleneck or to not bottleneck?

I'm a noob with diagnosing GPU/CPU related problems. Problem is, I've never owned a GPU strong enough to make me question my (crappy?) CPU that may not be powering it.

I'm having an issue with my setup (i3-4150 w/ EVGA 970 FTW). I know that this low end dual core isn't technically enough for it when you look at the specs, hence the reason why I have money saved up for an i5-4690k just in case that's the issue. In Valley Benchmark, my CPU sits at around 50% usage and my GPU has no problem with hitting the 100% mark @ 52 degrees for 5 mins of testing. When I'm in a game however, my i3 is in the 85-100% usage, with my 970 only hitting 60% max. I've only tested this in games where the 970 is usually below 100fps: GTA 5 and Fallout 4 with v-sync off. Obviously, it results in terrible performance (compared to what I was expecting after paying $520cdn).

Based on those numbers in those situations, I think it's a bottleneck issue but I need a second or tenth opinion because I've seen some threads of 970's that have usage problems due to hardware failures. Hoping this isn't the case.

Sorry for the essay but I figure more is better.

Specs on system:

- MSI B85M-G43 Motherboard

- i3-4150 (2 x 3.5ghz), looking to get 4690k if needed

- EVGA GTX 970 4GB FTW

- 8GB Crucial 1600mhz RAM

- EVGA SuperNova 750G2 750W Power Supply

GTA 5 and FO4 will take advantage of more cores, so for those games your i3 is bottlenecking your 970.

Edit - If you are going to upgrade to a 4690k you will need a z97 (z87 will also do if the BIOS is updated for Haswell refresh) if you are wanting to overclock it, otherwise just get a 4690 or a lower tier i5.

Spoiler

4790k @ 4.5Ghz 1.180v NZXT Kraken X31 | MSI Z97 Krait | Kingston Hyper X Fury 32GB 1866Mhz, 2 DIMMs white and 2 black | GTX 980 Ti - G1 Gaming | GTX 680 - Reference | SilverStone ST75F-P | Phanteks Enthoo Pro