Failing to copy files with Testdisk (HDD Recovery)

I was asked to recover some important files for a family member from an HDD that is supposedly unallocated according to windows disk management which isn't true because it was a boot drive. Obviously something is wrong, maybe a damaged partition, sectors, or maybe a damaged main board. So my coworker let me use his flash drive so that I can boot into Linux and use Testdisk 7.1. This is my first time using it but I've familiarized myself with it a bit so far and when I attempt to copy files from this HDD, it fails to copy any files even though I can see the files. Is there any other way to obtain those files? It's a 500GB Toshiba laptop drive MQ01ABD050.

I might be wrong, but is it possible that you can see the file metadata, which is intact, but the files themselves are completely f***ed?

I guess that's a possibility, my coworker was telling me that I could use photorec to do a raw extraction of the data, though if I do that it will be very unorganized with no names for any of the files and what not. He's very familiar with it and works on things like this for a living but unfortunately he isn't here to help me in person. If the files themselves are damaged I wonder why I can go through all the directories on the HDD and see all the files.. When I analyze the partitions it gives me Warning: number of bytes per sector mismatches 512 and sometimes another warning having to do with bytes per cylinder/head mismatching. I was told that I can switch cylinders or something of that nature? I don't know how to do something like that as I'm pretty new to Testdisk and I haven't used Linux in about 5 years though so I'm kind of stuck..

Is it a seagate?

No, it's a Toshiba drive that came from a Toshiba laptop.

No, it's a Toshiba drive that came from a Toshiba laptop.

Ah missed that;

You could try Acronis/Recuva (Deep Surface Scan)

Ah missed that;

Thanks I'll try that ASAP and get back to you.

Ah missed that;