New PC thoughts

I have never built a computer before, but I really want a new gaming desktop so I don't have to play games on my aging 4 year old laptop. My friend built his and he is happy with it. So he helped me put together a list of parts to build. Any thoughts or mistakes that I have made with the build? I have not included a monitor or other peripherals yet. Also, is it worth getting a G-Sync monitor for the card? I have the money for this build, but whatever I don't spend goes towards paying collage so I don't want to be too flamboyant. Here is the link. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ZzVhxr

Any help would be much appreciated. 

I have never built a computer before, but I really want a new gaming desktop so I don't have to play games on my aging 4 year old laptop. My friend built his and he is happy with it. So he helped me put together a list of parts to build. Any thoughts or mistakes that I have made with the build? I have not included a monitor or other peripherals yet. Also, is it worth getting a G-Sync monitor for the card? I have the money for this build, but whatever I don't spend goes towards paying collage so I don't want to be too flamboyant. Here is the link. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ZzVhxr

Any help would be much appreciated. 

Do you plan on adding a 2nd GTX 970 in the future ?

That cpu cooler might not fit in the case. The CM 212 is 159mm tall and the Spec-01 would struggle to fit a 160mm tall cooler according to the link below.

http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/corsair_carbide_spec_01_review,8.html

You can see the dimensions of the cooler if you click on specs:

http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/cpu-air-cooler/hyper-212-evo/

Build looks good only thing i would recommend is a cpu cooler so you can overclock otherwise i wouldnt go with the 4690k and get if you can a 240 gb ssd.