Blue Yeti Pro, XLR connectors

Onyx

Hey guys,

I been using a yeti pro for a while now and last week in my infinite wisdom I moved my desk while it was on it and so the mini usb port was damaged when it fell, since the warranty is over I thought I should just utilize the 5-pin XLR jack. Here's my problem I have never used XLR before and the only thing I can find that turns my xlr into a jack my PC has is a 3pin XLR stereo to 3.5mm jack (http://www.swamp.net.au/mixer-to-pc-cable.html).

Is this the optimal way of converting the ports or is there a better way?

thanks for the help in advanced.

That cable is for something completely different. You'll need a new soundcard or a xlr to usb thingeymabob.

hello

XLR 5 pin basically transmits two audio signals to each channel, plus a ground, I doubt any chain of passive cables/converters to 3.5mm would be useful to you.

Luckily, Blue makes a usb converter just for you: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Microphones-Icicle-Converter-Preamp/dp/B001EW5YQS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1372293237&sr=8-2&keywords=5+pin+xlr+to+usb

XLR 5 pin basically transmits two audio signals to each channel, plus a ground, I doubt any chain of passive cables/converters to 3.5mm would be useful to you.

Luckily, Blue makes a usb converter just for you: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Microphones-Icicle-Converter-Preamp/dp/B001EW5YQS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1372293237&sr=8-2&keywords=5+pin+xlr+to+usb

I was searching amazon for cables earlier and came across this.

hello

The Yeti Pro should have come with a splitter cable to adapt the 5-pin XLR to two 3-pin connections.  Here's a link to a similar cable.  I'm not sure if the pinout of this cable matches the Yeti, but it should be easy to resolder.  (probably best to find a spare splitter cable from Blue though)