Radeon 7970 or Nvidia

Hey guys, so I am relatively new to building a pc, Im looking at the Radeon 7970 3GB or should I look into something by Nvidia or what even is the equivalent? Perhaps I should wait for the 700 series? price isn't an issue so I'm simply looking for power consumption vs. heat vs. overclocking ability. Thanks :)

Case-Corsair 250D, Mobo- Gigabyte Z97 Mini-itx, Cpu-i5 4690k @ 3.5Ghz (ATM), Ram- HyperX Fury 1866 8GB, GPU-EVGA GTX 980 4GB, PSU- Corsair AX 760, CPU Cooler-Corsair H100i

Don't wait unless you want to overpay even more LOL. The 7970 GHZ is the best and fastest GPU for the money that you can get. Add in 3x free AAA games and you have no reason to look anyware else.

Antec 100, Msi 870 G45, Asus Xonar DGX, Creative Inspire T10 2.0, Creative Sound Blaster Tactic 3D, 4gb Corsair ram, Gigabyte HD 7850, AMD Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.6Ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212+, 500GB WD Caviar Black, Cooler Master RX 460, Samsung SyncMaster 226bw

i would do what linus says, 7950 is the way to go, otherwise if you really want max performance 7990 or titan because of the micro stutering issue

200th post ftw :D

Edited by bennyino

Definitely the 7970.  To my knowledge there haven't been any confirmed release dates for the new generation cards so it's probably not the best idea to wait.  The 7970 has excellent performance and for a great price.

12600k | MSI MEG S280 | SSUPD Meshilicious | Asus ROG STRIX Z690-I | Crucial 16GB 4800MHz CL38 | MSI Gaming 980Ti | CM V850 SFX | WD SN850 1TB, WD SN550 1TB 
Pi 4TB NAS | Asus VG27AQ, Asus PB278Q | Logitech G Pro X Superlight | Glorious G-HXL-STEALTH | Keychron K4 V2 | Sennheiser HD 599 w/ Fiio E10

post hidden by administrators

[AMD Athlon 64 Mobile 4000+ Socket 754 | Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro nForce3 | OCZ 2GB DDR PC3200 | Sapphire HD 3850 512MB AGP | 850 Evo | Seasonic 430W | Win XP/10]