Silent and Efficient Hardware for Self Hosting

Hello,

at the moment I'm running an old prebuilt as a server. (i5-3350p, 8GB RAM)

I'm not running the most demanding software on the server. Mostly Homeassistant, Bitwarden, PiHole. Nothing fancy.

Now my problem is, that the prebuilt is quite loud.

There are certainly options out there that are quiter and less power consuming.

Is there something you could recommend? Maybe something that is available used?

Thank you. 

Look for used Intel nucs or mini PCs they are pretty quiet.

I Use my knowledge as business owner and self taught technician aswell as an AI to help people. AI might be controversial but it actually works pretty well 90% of the time.

If performance isn't a issue I'd try making the fan spin faster. I doubt your saving much power as those chips could still idle at less than 20 watts from the wall so I'd get a power meter so see how much your really pulling.

If you want new look at something like a n100 mini PC. Super low power and normally near silent.

I'd look at what's making the noise ... for example open the power supply up, see what fan it's there, and find a fan that can do the same or better airflow (cfm) but it's more silent.

If you have a crappy cpu cooler that's noisy, maybe see if you can replace the fan with a more silent one....  or see if you can lower the cpu frequency

Your cpu is 65w tdp i5-3350p and scores around 4280 cpu benchmark points

if your mobo supports it you could get a e3 1265L v2 (quad core 2.5g - 3.5g, 8 mb cache, 45w tdp) for around 45$ and scores around 5200 cpu benchmark