Advice for a First Time PC Build

AetherBreaker

Budget (including currency): ~$2000 USD

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Light gaming, software development. 

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): 

Hello, I'm wanting to build my own PC, but I had a few questions I wanted to ask and this seems like the best place.

Firstly, I'm not looking for a comprehensive build recommendation, as I really want to make this a learning experience for myself and to try and figure out a lot of it on my own, however, there are a couple points in particular that I would appreciate some recommendations on.

For a bit of background on myself and my experience, I'm a junior IT technician for a small local company. I'm primarily a software guy/programmer, so although I've never built a PC myself before, I know my way around windows using obscure builtin windows tools and etc. 

Case

Since I don't have experience building PCs, it's really hard to make a good decision on what case will actually be good for building in (and actually look decent when it's done). So I would appreciate some recommendations for cases that are beginner friendly for building in, and look good.

• I'm looking to make a standard ATX sized build.
  • I don't intend to go for a super massive GPU (likely just a 4060), though I'd like to have the room to upgrade, so a case that could fit a 4090 would be preferred. 
  • I plan to use an AIO liquid cooler, probably a 360mm radiator.
  • Would prefer it to have space for fan filters.

Intel or AMD?