First time PC buyer/builder

Hello,

I would love to get suggestions for components or pre-builds from the community.

I am currently studying to become a front-end web developer. Currently I use a late 2015 IMac i've attached a screenshot that shows the rest of the specs for my computer. I am looking to switch over to a Desktop PC however I have no idea what components or specs would work best for my scenario. I at the moment have a budget of $900 in mine for this purchase ( i am currently at $369 so getting there) however I have also spoken to my parents and we've discussed them going half and half with me if need be

So in conclusion

I am studying to become a front end with developer.

The current budget I have in mind for my purchase is $900

Lastly I would greatly appreciate if whatever suggestions are posted also keep in mind that I will also be doing some light gaming on this system as well

Thank you to anyone who posts suggestions/feedback and I hope everyone has an amazing day

Screen Shot 2023-02-15 at 5.17.16 PM.png

Anything current will be a HUGE upgrade to what your iMac is running currently.

If you go pre-build (and a lot of people here will look down on you for that, but it's a perfectly viable option) go with the workstation-class stuff like a solid Dell Precision. Upgrading is a tad harder, but the quality is quite solid (Dell Precision owner here, 10 years on the same system without a single issue)

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

12 minutes ago, Radium_Angel said:

Anything current will be a HUGE upgrade to what your iMac is running currently.

If you go pre-build (and a lot of people here will look down on you for that, but it's a perfectly viable option) go with the workstation-class stuff like a solid Dell Precision. Upgrading is a tad harder, but the quality is quite solid (Dell Precision owner here, 10 years on the same system without a single issue)