Looking for Hardware RAID Controller Recommendations

ElliottRT

I am trying to determine what the best hardware RAID controller would be for a BDR Solution I am building for our clients. Originally, we were using Dell Precisions due to the availability of iDRAC enterprise but are currently evaluating building our own BDR Servers for Failover - Ideally the controller supports RAID 1 and RAID 5 at least, preferably RAID 5 with a hot spare. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am having a hard time getting reliable information from our vendors, and I have no experience with building NAS/BDR servers like this. Software RAID is an option, but I would prefer hardware if possible.

Dells used to use their Dell H700 which is essentially a rebranded LSI 9271-8i in a different form factor with socketed RAM instead of integrated. 

I still use the 9271-8i's theyre solid and reliable. You just want to make sure you get a BBU (battery backup unit). They support RAID0/1/5/6/10/JBOD out the box, and with an advanced software license you can unlock higher levels of RAID and additional features.

The 9261-8i is cheaper for additional features like the CacheCade key if you want to add SSD caching to it but it is only a PCIe 2.0 card vs the 9271's PCIe 3.0 interface. 

If you need higher performance such as multiple SSD's then the 9361-8i which has more cache, 12GBps SAS/SATA and uses their newer cachevault power module (capacitors instead of LiON battery)

Spoiler