Is it possible to code Java using only an android phone?

justagirl

Hi, full disclosure I am still a student but I started to do tutorials on Java and it feels good. The problem is my desktop computer isn’t very useful as most days we have to deal with rotational power schedules. 

I have what I felt is a good phone, Samsung Galaxy A03 core 32GB phone. I saved up for it for about two years and finally got it as it was on sale. I like my phone it has good size memory good enough ram and a GPU. I play a lot of games on it but nothing heavy I know it isn’t a true gaming phone. 

I also have a Bluetooth keyboard for it and do a lot of my schoolwork on it. It really is a little powerhouse. 

But can I code on it? When I look for a Java IDE I get a mess of suggestions and mixed reviews. So I am hoping someone already did something like this and can give me a few pointers. I am looking into a TV box so that I can work on a full screen. The screen I have is a camping TV with HDMI, the resolution sucks but it can run on 12V and will run for many hours on a 40amp 12v car battery. Using an adapter I can get the android box to work as well. 

I know everyone here is screaming laptop but people are buying up those old laptops and refurbishing them to sell again at crazy prices essentially 15% off new ones. It is not nearly possible for me to get close to that. The biggest factor is are jobs. Normally I can find work but lately the it is hard because most people that finished school is occupying those jobs full time. The world is a bit harsh at the moment so I have to manage with whatever I have at hand.    

Edited by Spotty
fixed text colour

There are some Java editors/compilers that run on Android, e.g.