Overclocking 2060

Morrie Sells Wigs

Hello, so I have a question about overclocking and specifically the RTX 2060.

I had a 2060 and am in the process of upgrading so I sold mine to a friend and they have asked me about overclocking.

I really don't know anything about it as I just kept everything at default, but he's into messing and tinkering and I am worried they'll destroy the card somehow.

Anyway, we downloaded MSI and then sat and looked at Google and while there are lots of conversations about it none of them are very helpful to a complete novice.

So, my question is, can anyone offer an advice about a safe setting that will offer some performance gain ?

If possible, giving specific, easy to follow, numbers for each of the variables (clock speed etc...).

I'd be very grateful, as it may also help me when I get my 3080 as far as tinkering.

Thanks in advance, guys.

2 minutes ago, Maury Sells Wigs said:

ut he's into messing and tinkering and I am worried they'll destroy the card somehow.

If you're just using MSI afterburner the biggest risk is crashing and needing to boot into safe mode to disable a super unstable overclock. You can't break anything with Afterburner, not without BIOS modding the cards. 

Anyway, some steps for overclocking the card:

1. Max out the power/temp limits. This will give the biggest performance uplift you can get. Don't worry about the temp limit slider being in the 90s though, GPU boost doesn't let the card get above 84C without severely dropping clock speed. 
  2. Set the fan curve to as aggressive as you can stand, since lower temps helps get higher overclocks. 
  3. Setup some sort of stress test to run in the background on loop. I like Time Spy since it's very hard to run but doesn't cause the card to clock down super low like Furmark does, but you can use whatever you want, be it a scene in a game, another benchmark like Heaven, or something else.