Any musicians here? Plz help choosing a MIDI keyboard + sofware

DCCFan

So I'm looking to buy a new keyboard for my son who has been studying music for 2 years but he is still young. I was told it would be great if it has at least 5 octaves, is sensitive and accepts a pedal. I just found one that covers all of these features but it is a MIDI controller so it does require a software suit, from what I could gather (I'm not a musician). Is it a bad idea to get a MIDI keyboard instead of a full featured one? Or is it a good idea considering you can download the sounds and effects you want? 

This is the keyboard I'm considering (it's on sale by me): https://nektartech.com/se49-se61-midi-controller-keyboard/

What software do you recommend for this? 

Apparently it comes with: 

BITWIG 8-TRACK INCLUDED

You can start producing, performing, and designing sounds like a pro from day one with the included Bitwig 8-Track DAW. It includes over 50 software instruments and effects for use on up to 8 audio or MIDI project tracks, and you can use any 3rd party VST plug-ins you might own, too. The ‘Bitwig Essentials Package’ comes as part of this package as well, featuring a highly versatile handpicked selection of loops, clips and samples, to make it even easier to get you started.

With Nektar DAW Integration you can control track selection and transport controls directly from the SE MIDI Controller, making this a fantastic combination. If you are just starting out, you will find it’s the perfect way to take your first steps in the world of digital music creation. And if you’re already familiar with using computer software, you’ll be amazed at what this combination has to offer!

I have a full feature board that operates stand-alone and has built in speakers.  I think it's great and I wouldn't want one that has to be a peripheral.  Downside, it's over $500CAD and doesn't have its own editing suite.  I waste even more money on the interface and cabling.