Server parts recomemdations?

JapanDave

Budget (including currency): 7.5K to 10K US (Can be cheaper if possible)

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Used to run a single application with daily users of about 300-400 users on two SQL Sever instances. Each database will have the potential size of up to 500gb

Other details : I was thinking that I could use 2 x 2TB nvme storage in mirror RAID (Or any suggestions on how many storage drives are needed with the single available being at least 2TB). Except I need advice on how to set up RAID and alerts if a drive fails as I have never done it before.

I am not sure what is better,  a single Threadripper CPU or dual Intels?

With memory I was thinking of 256gb to 512gb of ECC Memory?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Dave

1 hour ago, JapanDave said:

I am not sure what is better,  a single Threadripper CPU or dual Intels

It depends on the availability of parts in your region. Epic Rome CPUs as well as 3000 series CPUs are extremely potent for huge scale like what you described, so I would suggest that to start, assuming you are comparing similar generations of AMD vs Intel (when Zen 2 processors came out they dominated Intel in the server and prosumer space)

I WILL find your ITX build thread, and I WILL recommend the SIlverstone Sugo SG13B

Primary PC:

i7 8086k - EVGA Z370 Classified K - G.Skill Trident Z RGB - WD SN750 - Jedi Order Titan Xp - Hyper 212 Black (with RGB Riing flair) - EVGA G3 650W - dual booting Windows 10 and Linux - Black and green theme, Razer brainwashed me.

Draws 400 watts under max load, for reference.

How many watts do I needATX 3.0 & PCIe 5.0 spec, PSU misconceptions, protections explainedgroup reg is bad

15 minutes ago, Fasauceome said: