I have 2 thermal pastes to use, which do i use?

Lewkah

I have a Cooler Master Mastergel PRO V2, which i ordered seperately to make sure i have plenty of thermal paste for now and future.

I also have what came with my cooler, Arctic MX-4.

Which of these should i use?

I've used MasterGel Maker and while it's a higher grade type, I wouldn't underestimate CoolerMaster's solution. MX-4 is very old after all and while it's not a bad paste, I still have some of it and use on less important stuff, I'd use something newer. Or just try both and see which is best. I have the MX-4 for over 10 years at this point I believe and I did quite some repasting so I wouldn't worry about "stocking up" with thermal pastes. You just don't use it up all that much.

8 minutes ago, RejZoR said:

I've used MasterGel Maker and while it's a higher grade type, I wouldn't underestimate CoolerMaster's solution. MX-4 is very old after all and while it's not a bad paste, I still have some of it and use on less important stuff, I'd use something newer. Or just try both and see which is best. I have the MX-4 for over 10 years at this point I believe and I did quite some repasting so I wouldn't worry about "stocking up" with thermal pastes. You just don't use it up all that much.

so, i should probably use mastergel

But to be most accurate i should do my own testing.

<-- Moved to Cooling -->

Please ensure when starting new threads you're selecting the most appropriate subforum for your question. 

Community Standards | Fan Control Software

Please make sure to Quote me or @ me to see your reply!

Just because I am a Moderator does not mean I am always right. Please fact check me and verify my answer. 

"Black Out"

Ryzen 9 5900x | Full Custom Water Loop | Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) | RTX 3090 Founders | Ballistix 32gb 16-18-18-36 3600mhz 

1tb Samsung 970 Evo | 2x 2tb Crucial MX500 SSD | Fractal Design Meshify S2 | Corsair HX1200 PSU

Dedicated Streaming Rig