RM750 PSU shuts down on its own 30 seconds after jumping my motherboard

rara4
Go to solution Solved by Spotty,

If you're running the CPU without a cooler that would explain why the system is shutting down after about 30 seconds. It will overheat pretty quickly without a cooler and shutting down is the PCs way of protecting itself.

Finish assembling the PC and then update us if you still have issues.

Hello everyone

I bought a corsair RM750 PSU, but it has a silent mode so the fans don't spin unless it's under high load.
When jumping my motherboard with a screwdriver, the PSU fan doesn't spin but it stops providing power to my motherboard 30-40 seconds after being on. It consistently shuts down after 40 seconds.
Is that a normal behavior ?

Thanks

9 minutes ago, --SID-- said:

Or does the motherboard shut down the PSU?

Please list full system specs.

What was your previous PSU?

It's my first time building a pc, everything is brand new. ps: GPU fans don't spin either, and it doesn't POST (I tried both HDMI and DP)
I have a B550-F motherboard, ryzen 7 5800x cpu, zotac 3070 gpu, crucial 2x16GB ram, a samsung SSD and arctic freezer II aio (but I didn't plug it in yet, I wanted to see if everything else would work before).
In hindsight I thought everything was shutting down because the CPU had no cooler on it, maybe it overheats? That's what I was going to try today.
Yesterday I tried flashing the BIOS and clearing CMOS, neither worked. I think everything is wired properly to my PSU.

1 minute ago, rara4 said:

In hindsight I thought everything would shut down because the CPU had no cooler on it, maybe it overheats?

You fired it up without a cooler? Why do people such stupid things!

13 minutes ago, --SID-- said:

You fired it up without a cooler? Why do people such stupid things!

Oh shit ok that was dumb I guess. I thought I would keep it simple and only plug CPU/GPU/PSU/RAM.
But my GPU fans don't rotate anyway.