Hello LTT forum, this is my first time posting here and from a quick look around, it doesn't seem like anyone's discussing this but I want to have a home theater in my house and am wondering what the best move would be for display?
My budget isn't massive, probably around the margin of $700~1500 USD for just this, and the room is about the size of a small classroom or a decent master bathroom. I don't have exact measurements, but if completely necessary, I will gather them. I want the display to go on a wall on the shorter end, so I can have 2 rows of couches in front of it and leave room behind them for other things. I am also willing to buy a corresponding screen for a projector if it also fits in the budget. I am hoping for decent quality 4k video at around 75-90 inches, or whatever larger size that may be better.

While my main question is whether a projector or TV will fit my needs better, recommendations for each would also be helpful. And even a nice sound system for the room (~500$ budget idk) could be very helpful. I am also all for good brand consistency, like LG tv and LG speakers, but it's not necessary.

How much light does the room have?

Generally a TV will look better than a projector. Much higher contrast(esp if not perfectly light controlled), much better black levels, brighter screen, sharper image, no fans, no bulbs(and generally lower failure rate/parts to swap).

Id only go projector if you can get a much bigger display this way(like 130 vs 70 in) and have a light controlled room. Also make sure to get a good screen. If your about the same size for tv vs projector, Id go TV

It's in our basement, so it has one small window, and that can easily be covered.

-That budget is pushing it for a good projector setup--especially once you factor in screen, sound, and plumbing

-75" can be had with a panel tv for far less

-Dimensions do matter, as does the distance you will be from the screen