A question regarding index and lists on Python.

LebowskiBuschemi

Hello, so as some of you may know from a previous post of mine, I recently started learning Python and now, I've moved on to lists in Python and I'm currently having trouble understanding the code attached to this post. What I understand from the code is that we've defined a function that basically tells you whether a person is late or not using the name argument and the way the person was able to use the name argument to traverse the list was through the use of the .index command which is basically being used to check whether any of the user inputs for the name argument is indexed within the list. Finally, the return command is just returning location of the indexed name within list that meets the two conditions. 

PythonList.JPG

list.index() returns the index of the first found value matching the parameter.

eg. list = [1,2,3,3]

list.index(3) will return 2.

If the value isn't in the list, it will throw an exception.

Your return gives you a boolean value if it meets those conditions based on that returned value from index()

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

2 minutes ago, Slottr said:

list.index() returns the index of the first found value matching the parameter.

eg. list = [1,2,3,3]

list.index(3) will return 2.

Your return gives you a boolean value if it meets those conditions based on that returned index

Is it safe to say .index connects the name argument to the list itself in order to search the list for the indexed value that was given through user input?

Just now, LebowskiBuschemi said:

Is it safe to say .index connects the name argument to the list itself?