Sprayed isopropyl alcohol directly on the screen once

BornOrca

Hi as the title suggests I was an idiot and sprayed it directly onto the screen, I wiped it away instantly and I only sprayed it once.

Fortunately when I switched my monitor back on I noticed no water damage. Could've this done any long term damage to my monitor and cause a stain later or am I in the clear?

I know I'm an idiot I should've checked online earlier 😞

Spraying isopropyl / ethanol is fine, it evaporates very quickly and as long as you didn't literally drown a display with it, no damage would occur. Just try to use a solution (70-90%), not pure alcohol, and of course just water or other stuff like a acetone, vinegar or ammonium (and solutions containing them like window cleaning agents) are off limits.

Tag or quote me so i see your reply

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure your in the clear. it should just evaporate and cause no damage

Just now, Juular said:

Spraying isopropyl / ethanol is fine, it evaporates very quickly and as long as you didn't literally drown a display with it, no damage would occur. Just try to use a solution, not pure alcohol, and of course just water or other stuff like a acetone or ammonium (and it's solutions like window cleaning agents) are off limits.

ok great. I literally sprayed it onto the screen once and wiped instantly whilst it was off, and realised I shouldn't really spray directly on the screen lol. Usually I just use a tiny bit of tap water on a microfibre cloth but I wanted to try something different as it causes streaks. 

Just now, HyperPalBuddy said:

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure your in the clear. it should just evaporate and cause no damage

Ok great, pretty sure its the 99% stuff so that's good news.

I routinely spray cleaners directly on my monitor screen to clean them.  As well as my TV's.

Isopropyl, even the 70% stuff is perfectly fine.

"Do what makes the experience better" - in regards to PCs and Life itself.