Terminals in linux

I've never used linux before, but now I have to so I'm planning to install Ubuntu.

I've learnt a bit of Unix commands which I used in Fedora, will the same commands work in Ubuntu  and other linux OSes?

Thanks

1 minute ago, NareN said:

I've learnt a bit of Unix commands which I used in Fedora, will the same commands work in Ubuntu  and other linux OSes?

Most of them, yes, but not all of them, like e.g. Ubuntu uses a different package-manager and thus the same commands for installing or uninstalling stuff from CLI won't work.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

1 minute ago, WereCatf said:

Most of them, yes, but not all of them, like e.g. Ubuntu uses a different package-manager and thus the same commands for installing or uninstalling stuff from CLI won't work.

Thanks a lot

A fair few of the commands should work across from what I know. Some apps have specific versions (they should say ubuntu (.deb) arch, etc.) I have only really used pop! os on an old computer I replaced so not sure 100%. From what I know its the same for most things and some specifics for app downloads and some may not work because of snaps and stuff like that without changing settings.

Quote me for an answer, and to help track conversations

PC: tuf b450m plus gaming, ryzen 5 3600, 1650 OC (gigabyte windforce), corsair vengeance 16gb @ 3200mhz

1 minute ago, MistercanIgetacookie said:

Can you give me an example?

I just wanted to know whether Fedora and Ubuntu use totally different terminal commands like python and C++ do.

Oh no, its not like that. It's just smaller things that change. The basic commands will work across all distros as it is part of linux, not necessarilly th distro

Quote me for an answer, and to help track conversations

PC: tuf b450m plus gaming, ryzen 5 3600, 1650 OC (gigabyte windforce), corsair vengeance 16gb @ 3200mhz