What's the best javascript framework?

motz

Hey!

I am currently searching for a nice javascript framework/library to work with on a rather simple website.

The website will only have a single site, so I don't really need too complicated stuff.

I was already looking at vue.js and react.js, but I thought getting some other opinions on the topic would be nice.

If you already used one of the above mentioned, what were your experiences like? I'd love to know!

Have a great day,

motz

Do you even need (a) Javascript (framework) for a simple site though?

Personally I've worked with Angular and liked it, but I'm not really a web developers. Despite that I could get going pretty quickly. But I'm not sure it is the right choice for a small one page site. Unless you're talking about a single page application? 😅

Remember to either quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply

I use React and I like it quite a lot. Haven't had any experience with others though.

But depending on the type and size of the project, it might be better for you to avoid frameworks. 

🙂

If it is simple react is the to-go option, no downsides, handles infinite complexity if you might need it in the future, and (this is the kicker for your case) can be super simple if you need to (I recommend parcel over CRA). Or if you feeling hipster or adventurous why not take a look at preact, seems real nice, better, newer, smaller and more efficient than react, just be careful it's not as, stable, established or ginormous ecosystem like react has.

Only thing if you are really finnicky or nit picking might be JSX, which can get kind of ugly and/or magical (nothing a little bit of good practices and prettier can't handle IMHO) 

Would recommend sticking with native javascript, but I will admit that it's somewhat dependent on exactly how "simple" your "simple" website actually is.