Upgrading my system and would like to know your opinion.

Hello everyone,
I hope that you and your families are staying safe and healthy.

So, I want to "upgrade" my old PC to be able to sustain or carry out some processes I happen to suffer from my current build. I am currently an engineering undergraduate, so I need a lot of computational power when it comes to AI, machine learning, 3D modeling and simulation, photo rendering, and some video editing. Also, I would like to play some games in my free time. I am not a hardcore gamer, but I try some new demanding games from time to time and play some online games as well.

I am currently living in Egypt, and my budget in local currency is around 17,000 EGP which corresponds to almost $1100. 

My current build:
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/wFPLrr

So I had this build as you can see since generation 3 in intel came out so it is pretty old. I had no VGA card at first, and then I updated my build with a GTX 1060 MSI Gaming X like 2 years ago with the extra 2TB hard drive.

So, I have always been dealing with intel as my processor. However, when I got into engineering I figured that it would be way more efficient to have Ryzen as my processor for its higher multi-threading qualities. So, I would like to know which is better regarding what I need and if the new intel technologies got better in terms of multi-threading.

My new build:
First one with AMD Processor: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/LpBYcT
The second one with Intel Processor: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/9xHLrr
The only differences are just the motherboard and the processor.