c# Questions on dividing strings to substrings

Dravinian

Hey all,

For clarity, I am very new to c# programming, learning while working on a project as I find that is the best way to learn.  I have hit a bit of a bump in a part of hte project that I have been unable to find an answer that I could understand...

I have a long string, I can't say that the string will be an exact length in letters each time, but it will have a space as a delimiter between each word.  So no chance of AB requiring a substring for each letter.

My string would look like this:

Today Tomorrow Monday Tuesday Weekend January Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday February March April etc. (length 18 words)

I want just the days of the week from the string.

The days will always be the 3rd, 4th, 8th, 9th and 10th words, and the string will always contain 18 words in total.

Now it may be that pulling out the 3rd, 4th, 8th, 9th and 10th words and ignoring the rest will suffice for my purposes.

I just need to deal with each day of the week separately rather than as a group so will need a unique identifier for each word.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

4 minutes ago, Dravinian said:

My string would look like this:

Today Tomorrow Monday Tuesday Weekend January Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday February March April etc. (length 18 words)

I want just the days of the week from the string.

The days will always be the 3rd, 4th, 8th, 9th and 10th words, and the string will always contain 18 words in total.

Now it may be that pulling out the 3rd, 4th, 8th, 9th and 10th words and ignoring the rest will suffice for my purposes.

I just need to deal with each day of the week separately rather than as a group so will need a unique identifier for each word.

I'm sort of confused by your implementation and use of this string here.

What I think you could be looking for is this:

string[] words = yourString.Split(" ");