1800 photoshop + Linux gaming; fill in the gaps

Budget (including currency): $1800 USD plus change

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: adobe photoshop, Lightroom (photography student), plus Linux steam gaming (hobby)

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): 

I’m a digital photography student now, just sold my iMac 27 inch 5k for 1700 and I have some extra cash so about 1800-2000 is my budget.

ive currently purchased:

ryzen 5 3600 (w plans to upgrade to 4000 series end of year)

Rtx 5700 xt 8 gb

G.Skill Ripjaws V 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3600

Fractal Design Focus G Mystic Red ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

500gb nvme ssd

- - -

my biggest issue right now is finding a b550 motherboard, figuring out a good PSU and deciding on a good 4K monitor that won’t break the bank.

You are aware that linux does not run any adobe product and the one way to do it no longer works right?

3 minutes ago, jaslion said:

You are aware that linux does not run any adobe product and the one way to do it no longer works right?

I should have clarified, I have two ssds, one running Windows for adobe and the other running Linux for gaming. Dual boot :)

1 minute ago, rg4video said:

I should have clarified, I have two ssds, one running Windows for adobe and the other running Linux for gaming. Dual boot :)

Oh alrighty. Both nvme or 1 nvme 1 sata? Kinda need to know to find compatible stuff.

18 minutes ago, rg4video said:

photography student

As a professional photographer, allow me to give you some advice:

Ensure you get a high quality monitor and a colour calibrator, especially if you are going to try to make photography a profession down the road.

NOTE: I no longer frequent this site. If you really need help, PM/DM me and my e.mail will alert me. 

34 minutes ago, jaslion said: