Networked program accessible on internet

How would one go about having their program accessible on the internet?

I am working on making a Connect 4 game with SFML & C++. They have sockets available to let you do some network coding. I asked in the SFML discord & they basically said

It's impossible unless you make your computer super unsafe which I won't help you do.

So, they were of zero help.

I logged into my router & set my desktop to have a static IP across the LAN. I also set a few ports to be open through my Verizon router.

I'm imagining I should just be able to have a program open a client socket, use my internet IP address & attach the socket ported to the WWW to the IP I'm connecting to.

Is there an easier way to do this?

Am I on the right track?

I haven't gotten things to work yet. What else am I missing? Did I do everything correctly & just mess up my code maybe?

Spoiler

I'm a student in CS & want to do network programming professionally. I think it'd help if I could actually have things work on the internet when I apply for jobs & work a job.

8 minutes ago, fpo said:

It's impossible unless you make your computer super unsafe which I won't help you do.

Well, there is a point to be said here. You may want a cheap/used second machine to host this, so that if it does get compromised, the damage is limited.

Main: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16 GB 4400 MHz DDR4 Fedora 38 x86_64

Secondary: AMD Ryzen 5 5600G, 16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, Fedora 38 x86_64

Server: AMD Athlon PRO 3125GE, 32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 ECC, TrueNAS Core 13.0-U5.1

Home Laptop: Intel Core i5-L16G7, 8 GB 4267 MHz LPDDR4x, Windows 11 Home 22H2 x86_64

Work Laptop: Intel Core i7-10510U, NVIDIA Quadro P520, 8 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, Windows 10 Pro 22H2 x86_64

2 minutes ago, svmlegacy said:

Well, there is a point to be said here. You may want a cheap/used second machine to host this, so that if it does get compromised, the damage is limited.