Web Dev Languages Help

willnburger

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to web development (I've programmed with other stuff before) and am intensely frustrated by not knowing what I should be learning. Some people say you only need HTML, CSS, JS and PHP. Others talk about SQL, Bootstrap, .NET, Angular, JSON and a bunch of other stuff. I want to be a fully capable web developer, where there is essentially nothing I can't do. Can someone please give me a list of languages I should learn, in the order I should learn them? And a description of what each one does would be nice too. Thanks in advance everybody, I appreciate the help!

When talking about web (and other applications with user interface), there are two sides - frontend and backend. Those two combined is often called full-stack.

Frontend is everything that is displayed to the user. Mostly involves HTML, CSS and JS. This is where you create the design, layouts, set the colors, text etc. Today, a lot of websites use JavaScript libraries and frameworks, such as React, Angular, Next.js or similar to make building faster and much more convenient for the developers.

Backend is all the business logic, that works based on user input/actions. If user wants to see a list of books, frontend sends a request to the backend, which fetches data (from a database, for example) and sends it to the frontend. Frontend then displays it (in a table or whatever). Backend is just a HTTP server, be that in PHP, Go, Python, Ruby, Rust, Java or something else. Often the choice is based on what the developers already know and are most comfortable with.

JSON is just JavaScript Object Notation, it's a file format. It is one way to display and transfer data between services/clients and is machine-readable.

Bootstrap is just one library out of thousands (millions?) to design your website. It uses just CSS and JS to achieve that.

SQL is a database query language used with mostly relational databases (PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Oracle).