Raspberry Pi 3b+ Access point help *Solved*

savorok

So i am trying to setup a rpi3 b+ as a wireless access point in my room with pi-hole on it. 

I have an ethernet cable from my switch to to pi and have set a static ip for the pi.

ive tried a few differnt tutorials and none of them seem to work and always end up with either the wireless not showing up or the pi crashing and me being unable to ssh into it anymore.

ill go through the tutorials that wouldnt work for me and say where they went wrong just to see if anyone can pick up on somthing im missing or have done wrong(I assume im screwing it up somwhere as this is my first time doing anysort of project with a rpi) 

1st method:

the main tutorial im trying to follow is this one:https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/wireless/access-point.md#internet-sharing

Im only trying to set up the bridge as i dont really care about acting as a router as long as i can get the internet on it ill be happy. 

The problem seems to occur when im connecting the network ports around here: 

sudo brctl addif br0 eth0

after this the ssh terminal crashes and i cant ssh back into the pi.I also tried pinging it from cmd but i just get destination host unreachable.

my best guess to this happening is somthing to do with that eth0 command. could it be dissabling it from accessing the network after i run this command?

2nd method

After the first one didnt work a few times(after each time i reflashed the sd card started on a fresh install with upgrades and updates done and then rebooted) i went looking for other tutorials.

the next one i found was this one:https://discourse.pi-hole.net/t/raspberry-pi-as-access-point-along-with-pihole/1435/2

in the comments i followed clayton_cottinghams tutorial but it didnt work either. 

I would be able to get through the tutorial without any crashes or problems ssh'ing in but the wirless network would never show up on any of my devices.