Can I use external hard disk for windows 10 installation?

suraj ranjan

I am adding my ssd to my laptop for OS but I dont have 8gb pen drive for usb flash drive, I have external hard disk, can I download windows to that and use while installing windows?

6 minutes ago, suraj ranjan said:

I am adding my ssd to my laptop for OS but I dont have 8gb pen drive for usb flash drive, I have external hard disk, can I download windows to that and use while installing windows?

Yes. Any removable device and be used as a bootable device.

But guys i was planning to switch the hdd to cd port using caddy and then put the ssd into hdd slot, will that be good? and could anybody share me any youtube video where they show how to do it, cuz this is my first time so

Just now, suraj ranjan said:

But guys i was planning to switch the hdd to cd port using caddy and then put the ssd into hdd slot, will that be good? and could anybody share me any youtube video where they show how to do it, cuz this is my first time so

Don't tweak the laptop if it's under warranty. I don't recommend changing laptop hardware as I've had some bad experience. Just replace the HDD with SSD and do a clean installation.

i just have 250gb ssd so just that won't be sufficient, i need that 1tb hdd as well 

2 minutes ago, Harshvardhan said:

Don't tweak the laptop if it's under warranty.

come on it has a CD drive , you think its under warranty?

5 minutes ago, suraj ranjan said:

All laptops are different, check for your model

THIS IS MY SIGNATURE

It will be hard to do all that stuff, you should just buy a usb pendrive (beware tho, win10 iso could need more than 8gb now you should buy a 16gb pendrive) 

It's less time consuming and inexpensive 

Just now, Srijan Verma said:

come on it has a CD drive , you think its under warranty?

All laptops are different, check for your model