nvme compatibility

drRodneyMcKay

Hi!

I am planning a storage update to my pc. 

I have a gigabyte z170-hd3p otherboard and i have been using sata ssd so far, however now i would like to upgrade to an nvme one.  (i am not planning to replace the whole system)

Will it work?

Thank you for the answers

there is an m.2 2280/2242 slot on the mobo so you can place one there unless the m.2 slot shares a buslane with something else already in use.

Anything i've written between the * and * is not meant to be taken seriously.

keep in mind that helping with problems is hard if you aren't specific and detailed.

i'm also not a professional, (yet) so make sure to personally verify important information as i could be wrong.

It will work.

image.png.87a1dfc46908281d5fa0df1471a1780e.png

Looks like there is no ports that will be turned off or something, so nothing to worry about there either.

"We're all in this together, might as well be friends" Tom, Toonami.

mini eLiXiVy: my open source 65% mechanical PCB, a build log, PCB anatomy and discussing open source licenses: https://linustechtips.com/topic/1366493-elixivy-a-65-mechanical-keyboard-build-log-pcb-anatomy-and-how-i-open-sourced-this-project/

mini_cardboard: a 4% keyboard build log and how keyboards workhttps://linustechtips.com/topic/1328547-mini_cardboard-a-4-keyboard-build-log-and-how-keyboards-work/

From the looks of it, the motherboard has room for at least 1 nvme m2 drive. So it should work. Be cautious though, sometimes motherboards disable a specific port when a drive like that is installed. 

Don't call me a nerd, it makes me look slightly smarter than you

2 minutes ago, minibois said:

It will work.

image.png.87a1dfc46908281d5fa0df1471a1780e.png

Looks like there is no ports that will be turned off or something, so nothing to worry about there either.

Thanks. I was concerned, because nowhere on the product page can the term 'nvme' be found.

6 minutes ago, Theminecraftaddict555 said: