Designing a Productivity PC - Australia

fluppagus

Hi everyone. My sister has requested my assistance in designing a computer for productivity work.  She’s a graphic designer by trade and uses most of the adobe suite -  Lightroom, InDesign, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, and After Effects being the main ones, with the possibility to using Character Animator and Blender down the road.

Now normally she would buy the most recent iMac Pro and call It a day. But I felt I could do better, if only the thermals.  For reference a starter iMac Pro starts at about $7300 AUD

So I threw together what I imagined to be a decent system on PC Case Gear, which ended up in the same price range as an iMac Pro and I found a monitor which I think will work well. Mostly what I hoping for here is to get opinions on how well I’ve done.

Did I over do it? Is there some considerations I’ve missed? Are there parts that would do a better job for the same or less?

Thanks in advance!

https://www.pccasegear.com/wish_lists/999217/Productivity PC

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop/dell-ultrasharp-32-8k-monitor-up3218k/apd/210-alez/monitors-monitor-accessories?fbclid=IwAR1Bd5yzt5UpaiAdUMu6wNTaDGM7R2kLtbTA6Rb_MVuYgD8BiG3UeyJxr0U

Looks pretty decent, but not sure if you need such expensive motherboard, wont render any performance increase.
Get a solid board with plenty of features like the Taichi and you will be good.

You might want consider an Intel CPU with the iGPU, which allows you to use quick sync if that is desirable. The motherboard is definitely overkill. If there are some feature needs you can always use an extra pcie extension card. A windows key from various vendors will be a lot cheaper than a retail license. A single HDD drive might not be ideal as she might want to run RAID 1.

Is she writing off the computer?
If not, then that motherboard is massively overkill and completely unnecessary.

The 2080 Super is better value. 90%ish of the performance at half the cost.