3900x intresting findings for TIM

So 3900x is a great cpu. But its hot. Even with a custom loop it gets hot. And with PBO just pushing a single cores power draw to the moon it gets hot even when using limited cores.

Few things to note.

7nm makes for a very focused heat spot.

Offset chiplets help spread the heat out but only so much you can do.

Ryzen has a bunch of temperature sensors and reports the highest one. 

Most heatsinks and blocks are not ideal for this type of heat load.

So i tested out an IC Graphite pad. And i saw a 4c drop against Noctua NT-H1. It worked pretty good. The heat dissipation in the x and y helped put more of that heat across the block. Why i was disappointed in it on my i9 it worked pretty well on my 3900x and i would have no problem using this.

IC is not really telling you the full specs. The reason why most reviews on a tradition cpu show it to be low to mid when compared to tim's. Real world its only 13 W/mK.

Now i work in the semiconductor industry. One of the perks is i have access to a bunch of materials and contacts with most of the larder manufacturers who make them.

So i now want better. So i made a call to Laird and had them send out some samples of Tgon 9000. So i got some 17um, 25um, 40um, 70um and 100um.  So you dont want too thin and you do not want too thick.  So i tested out the 70um today and over Noctua i seen a 10c drop.  Not IC is saying they do 800 W/mK in the x and y. The Laird is at 1900 W/mK. And this was a ASTM test we don't know how IC got there numbers.

I'll test the other samples and see what thickness offers the best performance on the 3900x.  For the thermals i was using a Corsair Hydro X loop and ran Prime for 2 hours to heat soak the loop. Water temp was also monitored. Ambient was in an controlled room at 70f.