A scratch or really stubborn dust on my sensor?

79wjd

I've been trying to clean my sensor and I was able to get off most of the dust, but there is one spot that I can't seem to get clean no matter how hard I try. Note that I have used both an air blower and sensor swabs. I'm inclined to say it's just dust given that I've never tried to clean the sensor before, but it just won't come off.

Pre:

Pre.jpg

circled.jpg

PSU Tier List | CoC

Gaming Build | FreeNAS Server

Spoiler

i5-4690k || Seidon 240m || GTX780 ACX || MSI Z97s SLI Plus || 8GB 2400mhz || 250GB 840 Evo || 1TB WD Blue || H440 (Black/Blue) || Windows 10 Pro || Dell P2414H & BenQ XL2411Z || Ducky Shine Mini || Logitech G502 Proteus Core

Spoiler

FreeNAS 9.3 - Stable || Xeon E3 1230v2 || Supermicro X9SCM-F || 32GB Crucial ECC DDR3 || 3x4TB WD Red (JBOD) || SYBA SI-PEX40064 sata controller || Corsair CX500m || NZXT Source 210.

5 hours ago, RealCereal said:

Maybe it's a lens issue?

try on a different lens if you have more than one. otherwise there is dust on your lens

It's certainly not on the lens as that would never show up on a shot unless it was a painfully obvious large piece of dirt on the lens.

It seems that oil from the shutter on the sensor is the most likely culprit.

PSU Tier List | CoC

Spoiler

i5-4690k || Seidon 240m || GTX780 ACX || MSI Z97s SLI Plus || 8GB 2400mhz || 250GB 840 Evo || 1TB WD Blue || H440 (Black/Blue) || Windows 10 Pro || Dell P2414H & BenQ XL2411Z || Ducky Shine Mini || Logitech G502 Proteus Core

Spoiler

FreeNAS 9.3 - Stable || Xeon E3 1230v2 || Supermicro X9SCM-F || 32GB Crucial ECC DDR3 || 3x4TB WD Red (JBOD) || SYBA SI-PEX40064 sata controller || Corsair CX500m || NZXT Source 210.

On 4/18/2019 at 4:57 PM, 79wjd said:

It's certainly not on the lens as that would never show up on a shot unless it was a painfully obvious large piece of dirt on the lens.

It seems that oil from the shutter on the sensor is the most likely culprit.