Should I return this mobo?

Colecvv

Hey!

I bought a Ryzen 2700X and a ASUS ROG STRIX B450-I Motherboard. At first the motherboard seemed like the right option; but after seeing the X470 motherboards that are a little bit more expensive I'm not sure if I should return it. Will I be able to overclock slightly on the B450? And will it support Ryzen in the future? The worst thing for me would have to be being a new motherboard one or two years down the line. Excuse my lack of knowledge I'm still new to the world of computers. 

Thanks in advance!

1 minute ago, Colecvv said:

Hey!

I bought a Ryzen 2700X and a ASUS ROG STRIX B450-I Motherboard. At first the motherboard seemed like the right option; but after seeing the X470 motherboards that are a little bit more expensive I'm not sure if I should return it. Will I be able to overclock slightly on the B450? And will it support Ryzen in the future? The worst thing for me would have to be being a new motherboard one or two years down the line. Excuse my lack of knowledge I'm still new to the world of computers. 

Thanks in advance!

I returned 3 motherboard before I was happy. If you want to spend the money I would say it's worth it. That was actually my first board as well. It runs fine and you can probably overclock a little, but that board is not the best B450 for overclocking a 2700x. I would upgrade it if you do plan on upgrading processors next year. The Taichi is on sale right now. 

Ryzen 3800X + MEG ACE w/ Radeon VII + 3733 c14 Trident Z RGB in a Custom Loop powered by Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
PSU Tier List | Motherboard Tier List | My Build

The Zen 4 socket will be supported through 2020, after that it's unknown if they will keep the same socket or move to a different one in the years that follow.

Current Network Layout:

Current Build Log/PC:

Prior Build Log/PC:

Just now, Slottr said:

You'll overclock fine on B450

Ok thanks, much appreciated! :) Should I be worried about upgrading in the future?