Current & former mcdonalds workers

OnionRings

How bad is it honestly to work at McDonald's? I've never worked at a quick-service restaurant before so I'm honestly pretty terrified that I won't be able to keep pace and I'll just get yelled at or that I'll have to deal with a shity customer.

I start sometime within the next week and I'm just trying to mentally prepare myself because the only two jobs I've ever worked was a super laid-back campus security job and at a Wawa convenience store which was fast pace during breakfast rush but I was mostly just the cleaner so the quickest I had to go was just to clean up coffee spills that arrogant assholes left behind.

Any advice or tips is appreciated.

Please Quote me when replying.
CPU
 - Ryzen 7 5800X3D | RAM - 32GB DDR4 4000Mhz | MB - MSI B550 A-PRO | Boot - 2TB NVME 980 Evo Plus | GPU - EVGA FTW3 RTX 3090 24GB

If possible be in the back (Grill area) away from the public.

You'll thank yourself over it.

You don't have to deal with them directly or be reponsible for a register, esp when it comes up short...... And it will sooner or later.

It can get hectic since it's "Fast Food" but that's the nature of it anyway.

Prepare for stress - Lots of it.

The flexible schedule is really not, all it really means is your schedule is flexible to the point you can be called in anytime to work any shift for any reason (unless you're a student) and on busy days such as times when events/holiday events and so on are going on, you will be working instead of being able to enjoy the event and that happens with all such events period.

The managers and supervisors running around "Terrified" whenever they get word the District Manager is coming to pay them a visit or (God Forbid) an inspection.

I mean they get really paranoid about it and will have everyone stocking and cleaning EVERYTHING in sight, inside and out of the store no matter what it is just to get an "Atta Boy" because it's expected of them.