Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
CrispyFreshEthan

Ryzen 2600 overclock on stock cooler?

Posted · Original PosterOP

So I am a noob when it comes to CPU overclocking, and I'm just building my new rig soon and I was wondering what the best overclock (clock speed, volts, whatever) would be best for a 2600 with the stock cooler, it'll be on an Asrock B450M Steel Legend so vrm cooling shouldn't be a problem as the heat sinks on that thing are pretty big for its size and price. Airflow in the case will be OK, it wont be the best but it won't be terrible (2 fans pulling in on the front, 2 pushing out, one top, one back, all 120mm, 1000-1300rpm) 

So any suggestions on what will be possible with that config? 

I wouldn't advise overclocking the 2600 with the stock cooler. The 2600 comes with the Wraith Stealth, not the Wraith Spire like the 1600 or 2600X. The Wraith Stealth just does not cut it for overclocking an hexacore.

CPU: Ryzen 5 1600 (3.6GHz; 1.25v) Cooler:  Noctua NF-A9x14 on Wraith Spire Heatsink Mobo: Asus Strix B350-i GPU: EVGA XC Gaming RTX 2070 RAM: G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz 14CL 2x8GB SSD0: Crucial MX300 525GB SSD1: ADATA Ultimate SU800 128GB M.2 PSUCorsair SF450 Case: Fractal Design Node 202 Monitor1ViewSonic XG2401 144Hz 24" / AOC G2460PF 144Hz 24"

Laptop

Microsoft Surface

I usually edit my posts immediately after posting them, as I don't check for typos before pressing the shiny SUBMIT button. 

Spoiler

Other Builds:

CPU: Ryzen 3 1200 Cooler: Wraith Stealth Mobo: Biostar X370GTN GPU: Sapphire Pulse RX 580 8GB RAM: Corsair LPX 3000MHz 15CL 2x8GB SSD0: Crucial BX500 480GB PSU: Corsair SF450 Case: Silverstone Sugo SG13B White

Retired Devices and Inventory:

• Asus NV56 17" (i7-3360QM, NVIDIA GT 650M, DDR3 8GB) laptop
  • Lenovo Thinkpad X220 12" (i5 vPro 2520M, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Samsung DDR3 1300MHz 9CL 2x4GB) laptop