FreeNas Permissions

Hey All,

I have recently built a server for our business that will be serving as a file server to store photo, video and other media content, as well as general files. 

We have various photographers/videographers that take video and photos and I want them to be able to drop the footage onto the server and access other photo/video content, but not have access to the rest of the files.

I am just looking for some general advice I guess on managing permissions with FreeNas (as I have never used it before).

Right now we just have 1 2TB drive (with AWS backup), but my plan is to expand as we need it and add more drives. I want to, if I can, keep one collective place to store files so its just an expanding array of storage, I believe I can do that with pools by having multiple drives in 1 pool, but it also seems that I need to have separate pools in order to set different permission sets for users. Looking for advice here.

Do you have active directory or anouther directory management system? Id set that up if you haven't already, it makes permission management much easier.

Then link your freenas box to the domain, and set permissions to groups.

Just now, Electronics Wizardy said:

Do you have active directory or anouther directory management system? Id set that up if you haven't already, it makes permission management much easier.

Then link your freenas box to the domain, and set permissions to groups.

I haven't set anything up yet really, I have experience with linux servers but never freenas so trying to navigate how to work with it

Will your staff have physical access or be able to VPN into to your network? You can customize FreeNAS quite a bit. You could have users for everyone if you wanted to. As far as storing everything on one server you could do so with shares where they can dump off their content right on to the server.

There's no place like ~

Spoiler

Problems and solutions:

FreeNAS

Spoiler

Dell Server 11th gen

Spoiler

ESXI