Homelab Servers

I am a college student studying Network Engineering, and was wondering if anyone in Canada has dealt with http://canadaserver.wix.com/canadaserver

My goal is to pick up a couple of servers and set up a lab environment where I can test different things. Primarily they will be a Virtualization cluster, I have not decided if I will go Hyper-V server or ESXi. The question is has anyone dealt with this company?

I have thought about building it my self with normal consumer orientated gear, but I don't know if I can compete with the price. Is there something that I am forgetting to consider? I have thought about the noise and am leaning towards the Dell's R710 over a 2950.

Is there anyone in the community either with a Homelab that has any advice?

Thanks for the help!!

Unfortunately I have not dealt with the mentioned company, don't live in Canada :P Anyway they seem like good deals to me and it is best to stick with server equipment rather than custom build consumer gear. Not just for compatibility but just so you get used to the layout and design of servers, swapping disks, power supplies etc.

My home setup consists of:

FortiWifi 60D

Cisco SG300

Intel Custom S5520HC/SC5650 2x Xeon water cooled Corsair H55

IBM x3500 M4

The Intel server is nice and small which I use to take around to places when required and is extremely quiet due to the water cooling. I swap between ESXi and Hyper-V depending on what I want to try out.

The IBM server is my permanent one that I built a custom box to cover it and filter the air coming in. This one runs all my VMware stuff licensed with VMUG EVALExperience.

-snip-

Let's consider the fact that they are using WIX.com for their site. In my opinion this is shady as hell. Besides they are not offering anything that you can't find on eBay or Craigslist for the same price or even cheaper.