[Question] Removing Shroud from Asus Strix GTX 960 - 980 Series

Hello All,

I have ordered an Asus Strix GTX 960.
I wish to paint both the fans and the shroud to match my case and theme.

Just wondering if anybody knows if it is possible to remove the shroud and fans without taking of the heatsink, the only tear down i have seen, seems to take off the whole heatsink then takes of the shroud. I'd rather not do this, i am fairly new to pc buidling/modding, and don't beleive i will apply the thermal compound correctly when putting the heatsink back on.

Can anyone help on this point?

The later parts of this video may help with reapplying thermal compound:

Sig under construction.

Yes. Just look at all the screws. Removing the shroud will require the using most of them. 

If you ever need help with a build, read the following before posting: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/3061-build-plan-thread-recommendations-please-read-before-posting/
Also, make sure to quote a post or tag a member when replying or else they won't get a notification that you replied to them.

Yes. Just look at all the screws. Removing the shroud will require the using most of them. 

Wait are you saying its possible to remove the shroud and fans without taking of the heatsink from the GPU?

The card is still in the mail, so I can't inspect the screws. Just planning ahead.

Wait are you saying its possible to remove the shroud and fans without taking of the heatsink from the GPU?

The card is still in the mail, so I can't inspect the screws. Just planning ahead.

Oh, I missed the part about taking off the heatsink--you'll have to do that. Thermal paste shouldn't be an issue. Just leave that alone and don't wipe it off.

If you ever need help with a build, read the following before posting: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/3061-build-plan-thread-recommendations-please-read-before-posting/