I'm new to the SLI game

monkofcrunk
Go to solution Solved by Wockinine,

Sadly, if you were to SLI you would have to get the EXACT SAME CARD as nvidia I very tight about these things. On the other hand, AMD Crossfire allows two cards if the same chipset (so any two polaris cards or two vega cards could work together) but would take the vram and speed of the lower card. Personally I would stay well clear of SLI as many games do not support it and in some cases end up performing worse than single card performance.

Hope this helps

I'm going to be upgrading my PC soon and am wondering.... Can I SLI my Zotac 1080ti amp extreme with a different 1080ti? or do I have to buy the same one?

Sadly, if you were to SLI you would have to get the EXACT SAME CARD as nvidia I very tight about these things. On the other hand, AMD Crossfire allows two cards if the same chipset (so any two polaris cards or two vega cards could work together) but would take the vram and speed of the lower card. Personally I would stay well clear of SLI as many games do not support it and in some cases end up performing worse than single card performance.

Hope this helps

36 minutes ago, Wockinine said:

Hope this helps

Thank you! I will keep that in mind for sure!

Yes you can use any other 1080ti for SLI. I'd suggest checking the card's width in order to use an HB bridge (it should match) but if not then just use two ribbon bridges. Also if aircooled, the upper card may get toasty if you are not using a blower style card on the bottom. Just something to take into consideration.

CPU: i7 6950X  |  Motherboard: Asus Rampage V ed. 10  |  RAM: 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum Special Edition 3200 MHz (CL14)  |  GPUs: 2x Asus GTX 1080ti SLI 

Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1 TB M.2 NVME  |  PSU: In Win SIV 1065W 

Cooling: Custom LC 2 x 360mm EK Radiators | EK D5 Pump | EK 250 Reservoir | EK RVE10 Monoblock | EK GPU Blocks & Backplates | Alphacool Fittings & Connectors | Alphacool Glass Tubing