RTX cards for non gaming (3D - rendering)

CherryPop

Hello Ltt forums.

Im a 3D artist and i need a new GPU. I use a wide variety of software and render engines but they all kinda fall in the same space - which is 3D. Its programs like Maya - zbrush - substance - Nuke - Reality Capture - Unreal Engine etc. etc.

Im trying to read every bit of information i can about the new RTX cards - but mostly it seems to be focused on gaming. I dont really care about gaming or FPS - but i do however care a lot about my work. Does the new RTX cards bring anything exiting to the world of 3D ? I know that renders like Vray and Arnold have already mentioned that they will bring the RTX features in some way to their render engines - I also read a lengthy article yesterday about the new mesh shaders the cards have implemented, but unfortunately it got a little technical for me. Long story short - does the new cards and the new tech feature anything game breaking for the 3D industry that will justify the pricetag? They keep mentioning the 6x times faster ray tracing performance - does that only goes for real time ray tracing in games ? Or does that apply to a normal 3D render as well? Cos if so that would be huge for me.

And where do i go for information that doesnt revovle around gaming? 

But generally - how does Turing compare to pascal in a non gaming environment - and where do i go tomorrow when the embargo lifts to get non gaming related benchmarks and stuff? 

The RTX cards can do real time raytracing. Same with quadro RTX. Its not like non rtx cards cant do raytracing, but they will be extremely slow for realistic renders

First Computer: 3440x1440 @75Hz ROG STRIX 1080 Ti Core i5 8600K @ 1.415V @ 5.08 GHz Corsair Spec 02 EVGA CLC 280mm